Josh Eggleton: Pony Life

An insight to my life at the Pony & Trap

Ship Shape Glasto Fashion July 8, 2011

Filed under: The Pony Story — josheggleton @ 8:48 am

So here I am, on only my 3rd blog and somehow it’s crept in to July already! Unbelievable really. It seems like only yesterday that the start of the summer was on the horizon and now here we are with the Wimbledon champions confirmed (congrats to Djokovic – awesome)!

Of course, they say time flies when you’re having fun and while I have been manic as ever of late with umpteen services, weddings and planning other events, I did manage to take the usual few days off in late June to take in the mighty Glastonbury Festival (my first holiday since last years Glasto!)

I’ve been going with the same group of close friends for a few years now and I really do love everything about it. It’s like travelling 20 miles down the track to find yourself in a different world and there is always something fantastic on be it music or food! Come rain or shine, people I speak to always have an amazing experience and the event really is a credit to the Westcountry.

However, it is fair to say that the place gives me a headache from time to time – of course I often have a headache after a cider or two and I struggle as half my staff request time off, but what really pains me is thinking about the organisation of it all! The vastness of the place never ceases to amaze me and having organised my fair share of events over the years, in a professional capacity, I doth my cap to the Eavis family and his team.

Often I sit on the Pilton site and find myself thinking about just how daunting a prospect it must be to make sure everything goes off without a hitch. Where do you begin? Infrastructure, access, police, health and safety, the residents, the music, not to mention the food!

As is natural, I take great interest in considering things from a caterers point of view. As some of you may know, I run an outdoor catering company from the Pony & Trap called ‘Food For Thought’ and have recently built a new service kitchen on the back of the pub property specifically for this side of my business. In earlier years I did consider pitching for a stall at the festival, but after consideration and a stint helping out a friend at Shambala festival a few years back, I decided that i’d stick to enjoying Glasto as a punter!

Again, I have nothing but admiration for the guys that run kitchens at Glastonbury and without them the festival would simply not function. There is so much great food on offer there and every year I look forward to seeing what will be served up. For me, the eating is an essential part of the experience.

In previous years, I know my good friend Vince of Castellano’s has regularly run a stall and has spoken of his love for playing a part in this fabulous festival. For 5 days it seems that Glastonbury becomes the centre of the world for so many and it is great that local restauranteurs get the chance to showcase their talents to such a widespread audience. Flying the flag this year were many friends of mine running great cafes such as ‘the Story’ organic burger kitchen, the treehouse, the thali café and Lahloo tea and I had the pleasure to visit all of them as I waded through the mud. They all did a great job and should be very proud that they all played their part in the region’s greatest show.

 

Leave a comment